McDavid of Oilers wins Hart Trophy as NHL most valuable player


Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers on Tuesday won the Hart Trophy as the most valuable player in the NHL.

McDavid also won the Ted Lindsay Award as the League’s most outstanding player in voting by the NHL Players’ Association after he led the League with 105 points (33 goals, 72 assists), 21 ahead of teammate Leon Draisaitl, who was second with 84 points. McDavid led the NHL in assists, even-strength points (68) and power-play points (37), and was second in goals and game-winning goals (11). It was the third time he led the NHL in scoring (100 points in 2016-17; 108 in 2017-18).

McDavid helped the Oilers (35-19-2) finish second in the Scotia North Division and advance to the Stanley Cup Playoffs, where they were swept by the Winnipeg Jets in the best-of-7 Stanley Cup First Round.

“My teammates are everything,” McDavid said. “I really wouldn’t be anywhere without them … We had a special group this year and obviously we didn’t do what we wanted to do but still so fun to be a part of and get Edmonton and the fans of Edmonton excited again for what’s to come. Obviously not possible without [my teammates] and so lucky to be part of a great group.”

Video: Best plays of Hart, Lindsay winner Connor McDavid

The Edmonton captain scored at least one point in 45 of 56 regular-season games and had 33 multipoint games, including 18 with at least three points. The Oilers were 33-11-1 when McDavid scored a point this season and 2-8-1 when he didn’t.

“Our team is just getting better as we go along here,” McDavid. “We just had so many guys take the next step and I’m just a part of that. Obviously if we’re all continuing to do that, we’re going to go and do some special things in this league.”

McDavid won the Hart Trophy in 2016-17 and was third in 2018-19, behind Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins. McDavid is the second straight Oilers player to win the award after Draisaitl won last season and is the second Edmonton player to win it multiple times. Wayne Gretzky won it eight straight seasons from 1979-80 to 1986-87.

“Lastly, I’d just like to thank all the healthcare workers that helped us through such a difficult year and made our season possible. … And obviously all the front line health workers across Canada and across the world, It wouldn’t have been possible without them and together, we’re fighting this thing off and [getting] back to normal life.”

Colorado Avalanche center Nathan MacKinnon and Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews were the other finalists for the award, which was voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association before the postseason began.

MacKinnon finished eighth in the NHL with 65 points (20 goals, 45 assists) and was plus-22 in 48 games

Matthews led the NHL with 41 goals in 52 games and had 66 points and a plus-21 rating. Twelve of his goals were game-winners, which also led the NHL.

2021 Hart Trophy voting

Points (1st-5th)

1. Connor McDavid, EDM 1,000 (100-0-0-0-0)
2. Auston Matthews, TOR 600 (0-69-19-6-4)
3. Nathan MacKinnon, COL 313 (0-6-40-19-14)
4. Sidney Crosby, PIT 223 (0-11-13-20-21)
5. Brad Marchand, BOS 134 (0-6-5-16-19)
6. Aleksander Barkov, FLA 125 (0-3-8-18-10)
7. Andrei Vasilevskiy, TBL 57 (0-2-2-8-9)
8. Leon Draisaitl, EDM 44 (0-2-3-3-6)
9. Mark Stone, VGK 39 (0-0-4-4-7)
10. Mikko Rantanen, COL 15 (0-1-1-1-0)
11. Juuse Saros, NSH 14 (0-0-1-2-3)
12. Cale Makar, COL 10 (0-0-2-0-0)
13. Adam Fox, NYR 5 (0-0-1-0-0)
13. Jonathan Huberdeau, FLA 5   (0-0-1-0-0)
15. Patrick Kane, CHI 4 (0-0-0-1-1)
15. Kirill Kaprizov, MIN 4 (0-0-0-1-1)
17. Sebastian Aho, CAR 3 (0-0-0-1-0)
18. Ryan O’Reilly, STL 2 (0-0-0-0-2)
19. Connor Hellebuyck, WPG 1 (0-0-0-0-1)
19. Mitchell Marner, TOR 1 (0-0-0-0-1)
19. David Pastrnak, BOS 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Points allocation: 10-7-5-3-1 (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top