Oilers sweep season series from Senators with ninth win


OTTAWA — The Edmonton Oilers swept their season series against the Ottawa Senators with a 3-1 win at Canadian Tire Centre on Thursday.

The Oilers won nine games against the Senators this season, outscoring them 41-18.

Devin Shore scored the tiebreaking goal in the third period, and Mike Smith made 39 saves for Edmonton (25-14-2).

Connor Brown extended his goal streak to six games, and Anton Forsberg made 20 saves for Ottawa (13-24-4), which has one win in its past six games.

Kailer Yamamoto scored on a loose puck in the crease on the power play to give the Oilers a 1-0 lead at 11:00 of the second period. It was his first goal since March 8.

Brown’s wrist shot from the left face-off dot beat Smith five-hole to tie it 1-1 at 18:03. Brown tied Drake Batherson, Dany Heatley, Mike Fisher, Daniel Alfredsson and Jason Spezza for the longest goal streak in Ottawa history.

Shore tipped a Caleb Jones point shot to make it 2-1 at 12:58 of the third period.

Jesse Puljujarvi scored into an empty net to make it 3-1 at 19:50.

With an assist on Yamamoto’s goal, Connor McDavid scored 21 points (four goals, 17 assists) against the Senators this season, tied with teammate Leon Draisaitl for the most points against one team in a season among active NHL players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top