2022 NHL All-Star Game rosters, captains announced


Kaprizov, a forward (Minnesota Wild), and defensemen Fox (New York Rangers) and Makar (Colorado Avalanche) were among 36 players selected by the NHL Hockey Operations Department on Thursday to represent their respective divisions.

Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin (Metropolitan Division), Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews (Atlantic Division), Colorado Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon (Central Division) and Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid (Pacific Division) were named captains following the 2022 NHL All-Star Fan Vote.

“Thank you very much, fans,” Ovechkin said. “Obviously, it’s a huge honor for me to get that captaincy and it shows respect from the fans. Obviously, it’s a huge honor, a huge privilege and it’s going to be fun.”

The 11th player for each division will be selected by fans via the Last Men In vote at NHL.com/lastmenin or on a mobile interactive ballot on the NHL app. Voting runs through 11:59 p.m. ET Monday.


[RELATED: More 2022 Honda NHL All-Star Weekend coverage]


Ovechkin will be making his eighth appearance, the most among players chosen. McDavid will be making his fifth appearance, and Matthews and MacKinnon will each be there for the fourth time.

“Obviously, it’s a privilege,” Ovechkin said. “It doesn’t matter if you are voted by the fans or the League selects you. It’s a privilege. It’s representing your team, yourself and, obviously, have fun with the best players out there on the ice. It’s a pretty cool moment.”

Forward Mark Stone and defenseman Alex Pietrangelo will represent the host Vegas Golden Knights in the Pacific Division. It will be the first All-Star Game for Stone and third for Pietrangelo (2018, 2020 with the St. Louis Blues).

Ten of the top 14 players in the NHL in points were selected: McDavid (53), Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl (53), Ovechkin (52), Florida Panthers forward Jonathan Huberdeau (47), Kaprizov (40), San Jose Sharks forward Timo Meier (39), Calgary Flames forward Johnny Gaudreau (38), Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Victor Hedman (38), Matthews (38) and Carolina Hurricanes forward Sebastian Aho (37).

In addition to the Golden Knights, seven other teams had two players selected: the Hurricanes (Aho, goalie Frederik Andersen) and the Rangers (Fox, forward Chris Kreider) in the Metropolitan; the Lightning (Hedman, goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy) and the Maple Leafs (Matthews, goalie Jack Campbell) in the Atlantic; the Avalanche (MacKinnon, Makar) and the Wild (Kaprizov, goalie Cam Talbot) in the Central; and the Oilers (McDavid, Draisaitl) in the Pacific.

Rod Brind’Amour of the Hurricanes (Metropolitan), Andrew Brunette of the Panthers (Atlantic), Jared Bednar of the Avalanche (Central) and Peter DeBoer of the Golden Knights (Pacific) were named coaches for their respective divisions Tuesday.

The All-Star Game will feature a three-game tournament, played in a 3-on-3 format, showcasing teams from each NHL division. Each of the four teams will include nine skaters and two goalies.

The 2022 NHL All-Stars Skills presented by DraftKings Sportsbook will take place on Feb. 4 (7:30 p.m. ET; ESPN, SN, TVAS).

Here are the rosters:

Metropolitan Division (All-Star appearances)

F Sebastian Aho, CAR (2nd)

F Claude Giroux, PHI (7th)

F Jack Hughes, NJD (1st)

F Chris Kreider, NYR (2nd)

F Alex Ovechkin, WSH (8th)*

D Adam Fox, NYR (1st)

D Adam Pelech, NYI (1st)

D Zach Werenski, CBJ (2nd)

G Frederik Andersen, CAR (2nd)

G Tristan Jarry, PIT (2nd)

Atlantic Division (All-Star appearances)

F Drake Batherson, OTT (1st)

F Patrice Bergeron, BOS (3rd)

F Jonathan Huberdeau, FLA (2nd)

F Dylan Larkin, DET (2nd)

F Auston Matthews, TOR (4th)*

F Nick Suzuki, MTL (1st)

D Rasmus Dahlin, BUF (1st)

D Victor Hedman, TBL (3rd)

G Jack Campbell, TOR (1st)

G Andrei Vasilevskiy, TBL (4th)

Pacific Division (All-Star appearances)

F Leon Draisaitl, EDM (3rd)

F Jordan Eberle, SEA (2nd)

F Johnny Gaudreau, CGY (6th)

F Adrian Kempe, LAK (1st)

F Connor McDavid, EDM (5th)*

F Timo Meier, SJS (1st)

F Mark Stone, VGK (1st)

D Alex Pietrangelo, VGK (3rd)

G John Gibson, ANA (3rd)

G Thatcher Demko, VAN (1st)

Central Division (All-Star appearances)

F Kyle Connor, WPG (1st)

F Alex DeBrincat, CHI (1st)

F Kirill Kaprizov, MIN (1st)

F Clayton Keller, ARI (2nd)

F Jordan Kyrou, STL (1st)

F Nathan MacKinnon, COL (4th)*

F Joe Pavelski, DAL (4th)

D Cale Makar, COL (1st)

G Juuse Saros, NSH (1st)

G Cam Talbot, MIN (1st)

* Fan-elected captain

Back To Top