2021 NHL Draft order set through first 27 picks


The first 27 picks of the 2021 NHL Draft have been set with the end of the Stanley Cup Second Round.

The first 15 selections were determined by the NHL Draft Lottery, which was held June 2. The Buffalo Sabres won the lottery and have the No. 1 pick, and the expansion Seattle Kraken, who begin play next season, won the No. 2 pick.

The 12 teams that lost in the first two rounds of the Stanley Cup Playoffs were slotted into picks 16-27. Teams that did not win their division were placed in inverse order of regular-season standings points, followed by the four division winners in inverse order of regular-season points.

The No. 28 pick will go to the team that loses in the Stanley Cup Semifinals with the fewest regular-season points, and No. 29 will go to the other semifinal losing team. The team that loses in the Stanley Cup Final will pick No. 30, and the Cup winner gets No. 31.

The New York Islanders (71 points) play the Tampa Bay Lightning (75) in one semifinal, and the Montreal Canadiens (59) play the Vegas Golden Knights (82) in the other semifinal.

The first round of the draft will be held July 23 and rounds 2-7 are July 24.

The Columbus Blue Jackets have three first-round picks, and the New Jersey Devils, Detroit Red Wings and Minnesota Wild each have two.

The Blue Jackets have the No. 5 pick and the No. 24 selection, which was acquired from the Toronto Maple Leafs as part of the trade for forward Nick Foligno on April 11. Columbus also has Tampa Bay’s first-round pick, which it acquired when it traded defenseman David Savard on April 10.

The Devils have the No. 4 pick and the Islanders’ selection, which was acquired as part of the trade for forwards Kyle Palmieri and Travis Zajac on April 7.

The Red Wings have the No. 6 pick and the No. 22 selection, which they acquired from the Washington Capitals in the trade for forward Anthony Mantha on April 12.

The Wild have the No. 21 pick and the No. 25 selection, which was acquired from the Pittsburgh Penguins in the trade for forward Jason Zucker on Feb. 10, 2020.

The Arizona Coyotes forfeited their first-round pick for violating the NHL Combine Testing policy during the 2019-20 season.

The final order of the first round will be set after the Cup Final.


1. Buffalo Sabres

2. Seattle Kraken

3. Anaheim Ducks

4. New Jersey Devils

5. Columbus Blue Jackets

6. Detroit Red Wings

7. San Jose Sharks

8. Los Angeles Kings

9. Vancouver Canucks

10. Ottawa Senators

11. Chicago Blackhawks

12. Calgary Flames

13. Philadelphia Flyers

14. Dallas Stars

15. New York Rangers

16. St. Louis Blues

17. Winnipeg Jets

18. Nashville Predators

19. Edmonton Oilers

20. Boston Bruins

21. Minnesota Wild

22. Detroit Red Wings (from Washington Capitals)

23. Florida Panthers

24. Columbus Blue Jackets (from Toronto Maple Leafs)

25. Minnesota Wild (from Pittsburgh Penguins)

26. Carolina Hurricanes

27. Colorado Avalanche

28. Semifinal losing team with fewest points

29. Semifinal losing team with most points

30. Stanley Cup Final losing team

31. Stanley Cup winner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top